top of page


Rhodes Scholarship

Rhodes Scholarship

University of Oxford

The Rhodes Scholarship is the oldest and arguably the most prestigious international scholarship programme, and enables outstanding young people from around the world to study at the University of Oxford. The scholarship covers Oxford University (and college) tuition fees, living expenses through a monthly stipend, and the fee for health care coverage for at least two years in the UK.

Becoming a Rhodes scholar requires not only academic excellence but also a variety of character qualities ranging from courage and kindliness to possessing a commitment to others. The scholarship has continued to promote largely the same values and qualities over the course of its existence, including leadership and public service. However, the scholars themselves have changed: In recent years, scholars have increasingly come from varying backgrounds and institutions, and some eligibility criteria have been modified.


In recent years, the scholarship has added more countries, jurisdictions, and global scholarships and continues to ensure equal access for the most excellent candidates regardless of race, class, ethnicity, disability, or other marginalised identity.


To become a Rhodes scholar, one can apply through the Rhodes Trust website. The online application for most of the constituencies (including Southern Africa) opens in June each year and closes in early August.


Chevening Scholarship

Various universities in the UK

Chevening Scholarships enable outstanding emerging leaders from all over the world to pursue one-year master’s degrees in the UK. The scholarship is fully-funded (including flights, accommodation, and course fees) and is open to all citizens of a Chevening-eligible country. Chevening requires all their scholars to return to their country of citizenship for a minimum of two years after their award has ended. Their Batswana alumni include economist Bogolo Joy Kenewendo, social entrepreneur Kagiso Madibana, and lawyer Bakotelo 'Bacos' Mmipi.


Applications usually open in August. Visit website for exact dates and timeline.


Commonwealth Shared Scholarships

United Kingdom

Commonwealth scholarships are open to students from select African Commonwealth countries to study in the UK. The Shared Scholarship Scheme is a joint initiative between the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission with funding from the UK Department of International Development (DFID), and UK universities. This scheme supports scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries who would not otherwise be able to study in the UK. All applicants should have a first degree at either first or upper second class level to be eligible. They should also hold an offer of admission from a participating school to pursue one of the eligible programmes by the time selection.  

This scheme covers the cost of tuition fees (at the overseas rate), return airfares, and other allowances. The SOAS also provides a stipend to the award holders.

To apply go to the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission website:


Applications for Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for the 2024/25 academic year are now closed.


Gates Cambridge Scholarship

University of Cambridge


The Gates Cambridge scholarship was established through the donation of Bill and Melinda Gates to the Unversity of Cambridge. The scholarship offers outstanding applicants from outside the UK the opportunity to do their Masters or Phd studies in any subject of their choice at the University of Cambridge. Additional to being a fully funded scholarship, The Gates Cambridge also offers discretionary funds to its scholars for maternity/paternity, field work, support for unforeseen hardships and many more.


Applications are currently closed.


Read more & Apply


For more information

bottom of page